PANZ Book Design Awards

The PANZ Book Design Awards are run by the Publishers Association of New Zealand (PANZ) to promote excellence in, and provide recognition for, the best book design in New Zealand. The competition is judged in seven categories: Best Children’s Book, Best Illustrated Book, Best Non-Illustrated Book, Best Educational Book, Best Cookbook, Best Typography, and Best Cover. A winner for the highly coveted Best Book is chosen from the shortlist. A further award goes to the Young Designer of the Year.

To view the 2016 winners please visit: To view past winners and other related media please visit The design awards website is specially dedicated to the awards. At this site you can view the past winners and all relevant details about the awards. All design awards enquiries to:

Dates for 2017
Entries closed 31 March
Shortlist announced 12 June
Design Awards ceremony 20 July

CLNZ Educational Awards

The inaugural Copyright Licensing New Zealand Educational Awards were held in 2010 and have been established to recognise and reward authors and publishers for excellence in this market.

Five awards are given to:

  • Best Resource in Primary Publishing
  • Best Resource in Secondary Publishing
  • Best Resource in Higher Education Publishing
  • Best Resource in Te Reo Māori
  • Best Educational Resource for Export

These Awards are an annual event in the publishing industry calendar. 

  • Applications are judged by a selection panel of three qualified judges to be appointed by members of the PANZ Council.
  • Applications are not returned.

These awards are now managed by Copyright Licensing New Zealand in association with PANZ.
Contact Ann  Sprosen for details.